Home » Will win all Punjab seats, shortlisting of candidates soon: Amarinder

Will win all Punjab seats, shortlisting of candidates soon: Amarinder

    • By SK.VyasWill win all Punjab seats, shortlisting of candidates soon: Amarinder
    • New Delhi, March 10, 2019: Exuding confidence of the Congress sweeping all the 13 Lok Sabha seats in the state, Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh on Sunday joined other members of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Screening Committee to shortlist the names of the party candidates.It was a preliminary meeting, at which all the 13 seats were discussed, with names being shortlisted for each of them, the Chief Minister told media persons in an informal chat after the meeting, held at Kapurthala House here.The names will be sent to the Central Election Committee of AICC for finalization, as per the methodology for selection proposed this time by AICC president Rahul Gandhi, marking a new era in ushering transparency into the party functioning, said Captain Amarinder.

      The Chief Minister refused to divulge the names shortlisted at the meeting, which was participated by AICC General Secretary (Organisation) KC Venugopal, AICC Secretary In-Charge of Punjab Affairs Asha Kumari, and Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) President Sunil Jakhar.

      The Congress in Punjab was fully geared to fight the Lok Sabha polls and will sweep the same, said Captain Amarinder, making it clear that the PPCC did not need an ally to win the election.

      The Chief Minister further said the state government would take all steps to ensure free and fair polls, in a secure environment. The police and civil administration would work in tandem to enable peaceful election in the state, he added.

      In response to a question, the Chief Minister said the Army was an apolitical institution, which no political party could or should try to politicize. Any attempt to do so has a demoralizing effect on the armed forces, he added.

      Later the Chief Minister called on former prime minister Dr Manmohan Singh. He was accompanied by Asha Kumari and Sunil Jakhar.

All Time Favorite