Home » Ravi Kumar earns silver for India in Poland Open

Ravi Kumar earns silver for India in Poland Open

CHANDIGARH, JUNE 10–Asian wrestling champion Ravi Kumar of India
clinched silver medal in 61 kg class after he lost to Gulomjon
Abdullaev of Uzbekistan in in the final bout to decide gold and silver
in the Poland Open at Arena Ursynów in  Warsaw on Wednesday.
Ravi Kumar had earlier  given a good account of himself in the earlier rounds.
Ravi Kumar in the opening round had handed a 10-1 drubbing to Gulomjon
Abdullaev. However, the Uzbekistan wrestler looked determined in the
final and emerged the winner.
A 7-4 verdict in the semi-final against 2018 Asian Games bronze
medallist Reza Ahmedali Atrinagharchi of Iran paved the way fir Ravi
Kumar to move into the final.
Gold: Gulomjon Abdullaev (UZB) df. Ravi Kumar  (IND) by VPO1 5-3.
Semi-final: Ravi Kumar (IND) df. Reza Ahmadali Atrinagharchi (IRI) by
VPO1, 7 – 4.
Round 3:  Ravi Kumar (IND) df. Nathan Khalid Tomasello (USA) by VPO1, 9 – 5.
Round 2: Ravi Kumar (IND) df. Adlan Askarov (KAZ)  by VPO1, 13 – 8.
Ravi Kumar will represent India in the Tokyo Olympics in the 57 kg category.
Deepak Punia withdrew from the Poland Open due to elbow injury.
India with 24 points are at the 12th position in team ranking. The
United States of America are leading the team ranking with 130 points
while Iran are occupying the second position with 87 points, Two
points behind Iran are Poland. Ukraine are at fourth position with 80
points. At the fifth position are Uzbekistan with 79 pts.
70 kg: Gold: Alec William Pantaled (USA) beat James Malcolm Green (USA) 5-3
by VPO1, 5 – 3
3-4: Haji Aliyev (AZE) bt Zurabi Iakobishvili (GEO) by VPO1, 2 – 1
79 kg: Gold: Akhsarbek GulsevV (SVK) df. Rashid Kurbanov (UZB) by VPO1, 2 – 2,
Bronze: Mateusz Dariusz Kampik (POL) beat. Vadim Petrauskas Babuskin
(LTU) by VPO1, 16 – 13;  Vasyl Mykhailov (UKR) beat Aimar Andruse
(EST) by VPO1, 5 – 2.
86 kg: Gold: Zahid Valencia (USA) beat Sandro Aminashvili (GEO) by VSU, 10 – 0.
Bronze: Cezary Marek Sadowski (POL) beat Pool Edinson Ambrocio Greifo
(PER) by VPO1, 8 – 4,  Myles Nazem Amine (SMR) beat Sebastian Jrzanski
(POL) by VPO1, 6 – 1.
Q-final: Zahid Valencia (USA) beat Deepak Punia (IND) by VIN, 0 – 0.
97 kg: Gold: Mohammadhossein Askari Mohammaddian (IRI) beat. Ali
Khalil Shabanibengar(IRI) by VPO1, 1 – 1.
Bronze: Alisher Yergali (KAZ) df. Magomedgadji Omardibirovich Nurov (MKD)
by VFA, 11 – 7, Alireza Mohammad Karimimachiani (IRI) beat Kollin
Raymond Moore (USA)
by VPO1, 2 – 2..


About the author

S.K. Vyas


Click here to post a comment